Firenze: David, the Duomo, Museums, and More

On two different Saturdays, we’ve taken busses to Florence and seen a ton. And, IMG_9888I’ve learned a couple of things about myself. For example, I get carsick at the back of the bus. And gelato was invented in Florence. And I’m stronger

Twins

Twins

than I thought I was. So, the first Saturday we arrived we took a grand tour of the Ufizzi museum. That place is huge, and we found a ton of art. We needed to collect pictures for a photo journal for one of our classes, which explains why I actually have pictures with me in them. Most of the photos I took were about pieces of art we talked about as a group. Some pieces were really famous, and I got to stand only a few feet away from them. Others, though less famous, showed great detail… Like a snake biting someone. That was a little creepy. And, we saw that a girl in one of the pictures looked a lot like Heather… So we had her pose next to the painting. She says it’s her evil twin. But, as we continued through the museum we found some art IMG_9889that just made us

Because no museum is complete until you've seen a naked midget from the backside...

Because no museum is complete until you’ve seen a naked midget from the backside…

laugh… Like the naked midget that has a butterfly flying past at just the right time for the painter. What was even more interesting about this painting is that it has a back… We were lucky enough to not only see his front half, but also his naked backside… Art. Sometimes I don’t get all of it. At our other museum visit the following Saturday, we got to see David. He’s seventeen feet tall, so it’s probably a good thing they didn’t try to sculpt Goliath. Although David may have physically been small, at least in comparison to Goliath, we saw that his spiritual stature made him a giant among men. (1 Samuel 16:7). Done with our museum visits, we stopped along the Ponte Vecchio and had a blast, taking lots of pictures and enjoying IMG_9914a drizzling rain. A little hungry, Quinn, Maddie and I stopped to get a raspberry tart that was DELICIOUS. We ate it under a bridge and savored every bite. And, of course, we got gelato. I tried the pineapple flavor and loved it. Gelato is always a must. One of the other things we did in Florence was climb the dome… 463 stairs to get to the top… and we all made it! It was a beautiful view, and we didn’t realize it would help prepare us for even more climbing we would have to do in Cinque Terre… But that’s another story. Anyway, enjoy the pictures, and I’ll post on my weekend in Cinque Terre next.

Leave a comment